Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Book Review: THE LAST LETTER by Rebecca Yarros

  

The right words can save your life.


For fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult... A soldier falls in love with his battle buddy’s sister through their letters and returns home from Afghanistan with a secret that could destroy their fragile relationship. Don’t miss THE LAST LETTER by Rebecca Yarros! Grab your copy today!

  

Beckett,
If you’re reading this, well, you know the “last-letter” drill. You made it. I didn’t. Get off the guilt train, because I know if there were any chance you could have saved me, you would have.

I need one thing from you: Get out of the army and get to Telluride.

My little sister Ella’s raising the twins alone. She’s too independent and won’t accept help easily, but she has lost our grandmother, our parents, and now me. It’s too much for anyone to endure. It’s not fair.

And here’s the kicker: there’s something else you don’t know that’s tearing her family apart. She’s going to need help.

So if I’m gone, that means I can’t be there for Ella. I can’t help them through this. But you can. So I’m begging you, as my best friend, go take care of my sister, my family.

Please don’t make her go through it alone.
Ryan

GRAB YOUR COPY TODAY!

✦ Amazon ✦ Apple Books ✦ Kobo ✦ Barnes & Noble

✦ Goodreads


She'd ruined me from the second she'd said she regretted writing in pen. 


"... we can either breathe through the pain or we can let it shape us." 

I have SO MANY FEELINGS after reading this book. It's been quite some time since I've read a romance story that truly captivated me as much as THE LAST LETTER by Rebecca Yarros. I finished it late last night, with tears streaming down my face and I'm still thinking about everything that happened. It literally shattered my heart and I'm not sure I'll ever recover from it.

"Hope is good. Feel it. Because we have no idea what's coming around the corner. You have to take the good when it comes, because the bad isn't going to give you a choice." 

Just from its title and cover art, you can tell what THE LAST LETTER is about. Beckett has been given one last mission after the devastating loss of his best friend. Ryan's last request of Beckett is that he take care of his sister and her children - and one of her twins is fighting the hardest battle of their life.

"Honor is a fabulous thing, but sometimes pride can be a lot stronger, especially when you convince yourself it's for the good of the other person." 

Beckett and Ella have a complicated pasts and an even more complicated relationship. Every man she's ever loved has left her and he's never had a family to show him he's worthy of love. So when he shows up at her door determined to fulfill his one last mission, things get tense. Since the story is told through both POV's you know a secret that not all of the characters do. And you spend most of the book just waiting for the other shoe to drop.

I didn't know how to trust the appearance of sunshine after living in a perpetual hurricane. 

This was not your standard romance with a predictable plot. If you're looking for a book that will break your heart, rebuild it, only to shatter it completely, then look no further. This book had me crying so many times while reading and I. Don't. Cry. because of books! It takes some superb writing and strong emotions to pull those tears from me. This book touched on so many feelings that I've had recently but for completely different reasons than these characters experienced. So I found it surprisingly relate able. Rebecca told an unforgettable story and I can't wait to see what's next from her.

"Grief means you had someone worth grieving." 


**I received an early copy in exchange for an honest review (thank you to #NetGalley, Entangled Publishing and the author)




Rebecca Yarros is a hopeless romantic and a lover of all things coffee, chocolate, and Paleo. She is the author of the Flight & Glory series, including Full Measures, the award-winning Eyes Turned Skyward, Beyond What is Given, and Hallowed Ground. She loves military heroes, and has been blissfully married to hers for sixteen years. 


When she's not writing, she's tying hockey skates for her four sons, sneaking in some guitar time, or watching brat-pack movies with her two daughters. She lives in Colorado with the hottest Apache pilot ever, their rambunctious gaggle of kids, an English bulldog who is more stubborn than sweet, and a bunny named General Fluffy Pants who torments the aforementioned bulldog. Having adopted their youngest daughter from the foster system, and Rebecca is passionate about helping others do the same. 


Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter ** Goodreads


No comments:

Post a Comment