Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Review: THE HOUSE by Christina Lauren

4/5 rating

If you would have told me that a book about a murderous house that is alive (literally, everything in side of it moves and watches and responds and is alive) and terrorizes the love shared between two teenagers would terrify me, I would have laughed. But Christina Lauren does such a good job bringing this to life in a sense that I had to turn on my television to disney channel while nearing the end of this book because it was just too much to read being the only one awake at 1 AM. It makes you question every piece of furniture in your house and makes you avoid your bathroom for the first hour after closing the book (you'll get why i'm saying this once you read it). Delilah is a 17 year old girl who has just returned to her childhood neighborhood after 6 years of being sent away to a private catholic school, only to return to her "ever-so-caring" parents. Oh her parents, who will genuinely piss you off with their zombie-like, uncaring ways; which, personally, did a really good job at making me appreciate my parents sometimes overly-caring ways. Dhaval, her bestfriend welcomes her with open arms and gives her the inside scoop on what she's missed the passed 6 years; That is, until she stops listening after laying eyes on her childhood crush, Gavin.  It doesn't take long for their paths to cross, which then opens the path to self destruction...maybe.

I'll admit that in the beginning when they introduced Delilahs little horror fetish I immediately thought this story would be cliche and juvinile, and at times it could be, but I promise nothing prepared me for the events that took place. The only person shes thought to have ever known this was dhaval, her best friend. But Gavins paid enough attention to Delilah to figure this out on his own (which makes me swoon); not to worry, he has a secret of his own, too, and that's House. The only thing Delilah has ever heard was that nobody goes to Gavin's house, as in, he has never had friends over in his 18 years of life. That the house is "haunted" - so innocent -. And that his family is just weird...Instead, Gavin tells her the truth; and nothing could have prepared delilah (or us, the readers) for this type of horror. Gavin is, to the physical eye, the bad boy. The dark hair and dark features in his eyes and (pretty sure I'm falling for him myself) nobody bothers to go near him. But his delicate way of treating delilah and the realization that hits him about the only family he's ever known (you'll understand) makes you want to jump into the book and just take him away from all of the stress. 

That being said, if there were three pictures that could sum up my emotions during and after reading this, it would be these three;
This is an exact picture of me, last night, except instead of hair it was my blanket; The minute "House" reacted the way it did to Delilah talking about where they would live together after high school, implying he wouldn't live in "House" forever, I knew that there was so much more to it than having freshly made chocolate chip cookies prepared for Gavin everyday after school, and so did Delilah. Sparking her mission to get rid of it befor it got rid of her. 
"The thing is, i'm yours. I don't belong to anyone, but you. I'm scared that youll never be mine the same way" "Lilah, I am yours already, completely." enough said, you can kill me now.

And then the moment Delilah pretty much almost got murdered by "House" in the only place Gavin thought was not alive in the house, the shower curtain wrapping around her wrists and the thousands of spiders crawling towards her, I had to hold my breath while reading...but the minute Gavin opened the door all it looked like was as if Delilah was trying to hurt herself, because everything had disappeared. I think I had to put my book down for a good  five minutes to process the fact that yes, this house is most definitely the house from hell. And I didn't look at my shower curtain for the rest of the night in the same way.

Once they turn the schools abandoned music room into their safe haven, that was it for me, my heart could not take the passion these two have for eachother; the both innocent yet exciting passion. And with every shaking fear thrown in their path, that passion grows and so does the anger that stirrs inside of House, which I promise will frighten you a little bit. It's the end that makes you want to jump into the book, slip on your black heeled boots with delilah, some black paint under your eyes, and take the damned demon down. I won't tell you what happens between House and Gavin -or- Gavin and Delilah, it's up for you to stick around to see who -or what- he chooses, but i'll tell you one thing, the ending will most definitely leave you in both a state of "what the hell" and "let me catch up with my emotions". The only reason I'm not giving it 5/5 aside from 4/5 is because it was in my opinion too rushed at some points, I needed more of their love and more of the action of House, but still, perfect enough. Definitely recommend reading if you're into romance/mystery/suspense/a little bit of horror.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Review: THE AIR HE BREATHES (Book One in The Elements Series) By Brittainy Cherry

I was warned about Tristan Cole.

“Stay away from him,” people said.
“He’s cruel.”
“He’s cold.”
“He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty.
We were both looking for something else. Something more.
We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays.

Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

Genre: New Adult (Mature readers)
Rating: …..So hard to do guys! 3.5/5 stars!

Release Day + Freebie: THE BLOOD SCION and THE SCIONLESS HOUSE by Nazarea Andrews


Today we are celebrating the release of THE BLOOD SCION by Nazarea Andrews. It is the beginning of a brand new paranormal series from Nazarea, The Scion Legacy. Don't miss picking up The Scionless House, a novella in the series, because it is FREE!

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00073]

I was just a reporter, trying to stay ahead of my student loans. I knew the rules, and I followed them. I thought I knew how the world worked—humans lived their petty little lives in the safety of the sun. We loved and fought and—when the sun sank—we scurried behind our walls and lived in fear. That is when the monsters came out to play. And even in the safety of the sun, we knew who ruled us. The Houses. And their Scions. Everyone knows the great Houses and their Scions—they are feared and loved and hated and envied. They are the gods who walk the shadows and rule all of our lives. They are salvation and death. And somehow, I am one of them.

Exclusive Release Day Excerpt: BUTTERFLY DREAMS by A. Meredith Walters


In a powerful romance hailed as “heartbreaking, real, and breathtakingly beautiful” by Stacey Lynn, New York Times bestselling author A. Meredith Walters tells the story of a troubled young woman and the unforgettable guy who teaches her to live—and love—to the fullest.   She’s waiting to die. . . . Corin Thompson is paralyzed by her obsession with mortality. Having lost both of her parents, she is terrified by the idea that she too will die young, and she loses control at any sign of illness. But when Corin connects with someone who has survived a very real brush with death, she begins to see the world in a whole new way. He’s learning to live. . . . As Corin struggles under the weight of her neuroses, Beckett Kingsley is attempting to rebuild a life that feels all too temporary. With the ever-present threat of heart failure never far from his mind, he just wants to make the most of whatever time he has left. And that means pursuing the girl he never expected to find. Together, Corin and Beckett finally learn to let go of their fears and take solace in everyday pleasures. Who knows what the future holds? After all, nothing lasts forever—the only promise they have is right now

Monday, November 23, 2015

One day until: THE TRUTH ABOUT HIM by M. O'Keefe


Today we are sharing some teasers and a few giveaways for THE TRUTH ABOUT HIM by M. O'Keefe. This title will be released tomorrow -- Tuesday, November 24th. Be sure to enter to win a $50 Gift Card for sharing the book materials. In addition, if you pre-order the book now, you will be entered to win another $50 Gift Card to the online book-retailer of your choice. Today is the last day to enter!


For fans of Christina Lauren and Jodi Ellen Malpas comes the next novel in M. O’Keefe’s breathtakingly sexy series about a woman called into a journey of the heart, body, and soul. We played our roles, told each other lies.

But now Dylan is no longer just a mysterious deep voice on the other end of the line. We’re face-to-face and our relationship is very, very real.

We still have secrets—but so much is crystal clear:

The thrilling danger.

The raw, naked desire.

The need to keep feeling the way he makes me feel. Forever.

Dylan is putting up walls, trying to keep me safe, but he can’t shut me out. He has seen my darkness and rescued me. Now it’s my turn, if only he will let me.

The Truth About Him is intended for mature audiences.

Exclusive Excerpt and Giveaway: STIRRED by Nancy S. Thompson

I’m Eden MacLaird, and Fate screwed me good at the age of twenty-one, stole my first love, then my first child. Twenty years later, I still haven't found my happily-ever-after. Sure, from the outside, I have it all, including Declan, my gorgeous, rich-as-sin husband. But things aren't what they seem, and catching Declan in bed with my best friend destroys any dreams I harbor for love, much less sexual fulfillment. 

Then in walks Sean Bennett...

Just months away from earning his post-graduate law degree, Sean's smart, driven, and serious, but an unexpected encounter between us in a bar one night changes everything. His best friend, Trinitee, warns against getting too involved, but the heat between us is beyond intense, and neither of us are willing to walk away. 

With my marriage in shambles, I'm eager to make a go of it with Sean, despite our sixteen-year age difference. But while I relish my sexual reawakening, I fear giving up the posh life I've grown accustomed to. That life, however, and everything in it, comes crashing down as bodies start piling up around us, and all clues point to me and Sean. 

Secrets, betrayal, and revenge threaten to destroy not just my carefully-crafted reputation, but my very life. With our freedom at stake, Sean and I join forces to uncover those plotting against us. But as doubt and evidence mount, I must choose: give in to my suspicions and save myself, or trust our new-found love and save us both.

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Review: DIRTY ENGLISH by Ilsa Madden-Mills

A scarred fighter. A girl with rules. One night of unbridled passion. There are three things you need to know about Elizabeth Bennett: she’s smart as a whip, always in control, and lives by a set of carefully crafted rules. She’s learned the hard way that people you love the most always hurt you in the end. But then she meets Declan Blay, the new neighbor at her apartment complex. A tattooed British street fighter, he’s the campus bad boy she’s supposed to avoid, but when he saves her from a frat party gone bad, all her rules about sex and love fly out the window. She gives him one night of unbridled passion, but he longs for more. With only a cardboard-thin wall separating their bedrooms, he dreams of possessing the vulnerable girl next door forever. One night. Two damaged hearts. The passion of a lifetime. *a modern love story inspired by Pride and Prejudice*

Genre: New Adult (18+ up due to steamy content!!)

Rating: 4.5/5 STARSSS!

Shop Amazon!