Monday, September 17, 2018

Blog Tour Review: IN HER BONES by Kate Moretti

38532154

A higher level than the standard thriller. Readers will enjoy this book for the suspense…[and] love it for the skill and mastery Moretti has for her craft.” —New York Journal of Books

“Morbid…Moretti pulls some tricky tricks.” —The New York Times


New York Times bestselling author Kate Moretti’s next “exceptional…emotionally astute, [and] deliciously sinister” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) thriller follows the daughter of a convicted serial killer who finds herself at the center of a murder investigation.

Fifteen years ago, Lilith Wade was arrested for the brutal murder of six women. After a death row conviction, media frenzy, and the release of an unauthorized biography, her thirty-year-old daughter Edie Beckett is just trying to survive out of the spotlight. She’s a recovering alcoholic with a dead-end city job and an unhealthy codependent relationship with her brother.

Edie also has a disturbing secret: a growing obsession with the families of Lilith’s victims. She’s desperate to see how they’ve managed—or failed—to move on. While her escalating fixation is a problem, she’s careful to keep her distance. That is, until she crosses a line and a man is found murdered.

Edie quickly becomes the prime suspect—and while she can’t remember everything that happened the night of the murder, she’d surely remember killing someone. With the detective who arrested her mother hot on her trail, Edie goes into hiding. She’s must get to the truth of what happened that night before the police—or the real killer—find her.

Unless, of course, she has more in common with her mother than she’s willing to admit…

Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, In Her Bones features Moretti’s “riveting and insightful” (Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author) prose and “chillingly satisfying” (Publishers Weekly) twists, and will leave you questioning the nature of guilt, obsession, and the toxicity of familial ties.
 

IN HER BONES by Kate Moretti
Atria Paperback | ISBN: 9781501166471| On sale: September 4, 2018 | 320 pages | $16.00
Atria eBook | ISBN: 9781501166488 | On sale: September 4, 20187 | 320 pages | $11.99
Atria Hardcover | ISBN: 9781982104672| On sale: September 4, 2018 | 320 pages | $28.00

"I generally enjoy thinking on my feet, manipulating facts, bending the truth, to get what I want."

I'm not sure what it is, but there's something about the season change from summer to fall that makes me crave one of Kate's thrillers. Maybe it's that it's the time of year her book release or maybe it's just the feeling her stories give me. A dark and twisted tale that keeps me on the edge of my set until it unfolds. IN HER BONES is the story of Edie Beckett the daughter of serial killer, Lilith Wade. It's a story that dives into the mind of a killer and what might drive them to commit such heinous acts. It's a story that tests and explores families and difference between nature verses nurture. It shines a light on mental illness in a way that I found very intriguing.

"The hunt thrilled me. The flush of heat against my neck at each discovery, the way the keys flew under my fingertips, the information seemed summoned at will - almost effortless."

Edie is trying survive while flying under the radar of her mothers crimes. But when history looks like it might be repeating itself, Edie finds herself as the number one suspect. On the run from the police and her past Edie discovers more than she bargains for. Being inside Edie's mind while she tries to discover who the real killer is had me second guessing everything, questioning my own safety and how easily information can be found in this digital era. The ending was nothing that I predicted while trying to solve the mystery myself!

"... between the contacts, photos, historical data, and GPS metadata, everything you need to know about anyone is sitting in their pocket."

If you enjoy mystery and a little bit of psychology or sociology, something that might make you question things in your own life, then this is the book for you. Kate's writing had my interest peaked from the beginning and the very last word. Her writing is always beautiful and stories intriguing. I loved her last two books as well, you can check out my reviews for THE VANISHING YEAR and THE BLACKBIRD SEASON, if you're interested. 

"Everyone ignores what they know to be true, when the truth is inconvenient."


Kate Moretti is the New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing YearThought I Knew You, and Binds That Tie. She lives in eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and kids. Find out more at katemoretti.com.

Twitter: @KateMoretti1
Instagram: @katemoretti1

No comments:

Post a Comment